#242 of 365 – “thunderstorms and petals”

“thunderstorms and petals”

 

so many graveyards already

no more room for the dead

I’m going to let the hungry skies

breathe up my ashes instead

I want to fly in the ether

and swim with the clouds

leave my pages to grow memories

in some future, tilled and plowed

what resonance will fill my space

what timbre will I leave

what shadows will fall silent

leaving light alone to grieve

I hope my days become a fiery quilt

of thunderstorms and petals

and the nights I share leave love,

vast and soft like velvet meadows

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Death, Life, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #242 of 365 – “thunderstorms and petals”

  1. pi314chron says:

    If not your best poem, then certainly your VERY, VERY, VERY BEST! You can be very proud of this marvelous work!

  2. Starralee says:

    Amazing, BRAVO–carried me along eagerly to the beautiful end.

Feel free to comment.

