#244 of 365 – “amphitheatre nights”

“amphitheatre nights”

(listening to music we could hear coming from the Carter Barron Amphitheatre)

 

on the back steps

of uneasiness

beneath

the balmy kiss

of Summer

we watched

leaves

embraced

by music

dancing

in the August

moon

while we played,

easy

in a dusk

with not one

bother

and a night

that trailed in

softly,

the only

free time

with my

father

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Family, father, Growing Up, Home, Music, Night, Parent, Past, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #244 of 365 – “amphitheatre nights”

  1. Starralee says:

    Wow–Beautiful. I wish I didn’t like “on the back steps of uneasiness” so much–but it’s brilliant word-work; I can see the steps and feel the feelings.

    • Blackbird says:

      Oh…thank you so much Starralee!! Your comments mean so much to me, my dear friend.

      • Starralee says:

        It’s so eerie/magical to meet another writer who “knows” things–and shares such authentic, high-caliber writing with us. Pretty phenomenal, as I’ve not run across the combination before, in my 3 yrs of blogging. But then there are a million blogs I’ve not read….and only 24 hrs in a day. Still, it’s oddly satisfying to read you and have the sense that we lived on the same street…

      • Blackbird says:

        Indeed! It is magical/divine that our paths have led us here. It truly makes me speechless with gratitude. And your writing, my friend, is deeply, timelessly visceral and beautiful.

      • Starralee says:

        Ohhh, your beautiful words are a lovely gift tonight–thank you so much.

  2. pi314chron says:

    Really lovely poetry! The image of playing in the dusk with night trailing in softly will be hard to forget. Very much the way I remember summers as a boy growing up in the 50’s. I could never express it in poetry as well as you have in these few words. Bravo!

    Ron

Feel free to comment.

