#252 of 365 – “the greedy light of noon”

“the greedy light of noon”

 

mist haunts the tree-tops

like spirits from the nether

 

clinging to a transient life

dependent on the weather

 

morning locks her failing grip

around a vanishing moon

 

knowing she will sleep

beneath the greedy light of noon

 

but she’s not ready, and rains down

a gray and thunderous hour

 

until she cries herself to sleep

exhausted by her own power

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Nature, Night, Poetry, Rain and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #252 of 365 – “the greedy light of noon”

  1. Elly-Grace says:

    Hey! I love this poem at lot! I think your blog concept & idea to write a poem a day is very amazing! I wish I had that much time on my hands! I would love for you to check out my blog if possible, maybe give it a ‘like’ and follow if you are interested in daily interesting thoughts about life. Thanks in advance, it would mean a lot to me! http://ellygraace.wordpress.com Keep up the amazing work! x 🙂 ell

    • Blackbird says:

      Hi Elly-Grace,
      Thanks for your comments! Very much appreciated! Yeah…as far as a poem a day…I wish I had that much time on my hands as well…what was I thinking?! Two kids, spouse, full time crazy schedule jobs, kung fu classes, etc….you get the point!
      Anyway…I’d be happy to check your blog out…look for me there. And thanks again for reading and commenting!

      • Elly-Grace says:

        Thank-you so much for your extended reply!
        I understand your situation, time is quite fleeting!
        Can’t wait to read more of your poetry.
        xxx
        Elly

  2. Starralee says:

    WOWZA–I love this like crazy! Could I print a copy for my keepsakes file, please?

  3. sassyD says:

    Beautiful and haunting. You excel at this kind of descriptive poetry.

Feel free to comment.

