#256 of 365 – 6 Haiku brought on by Father’s Day

6 Haiku brought on by Father’s Day

 

baby picture; I

don’t recognize the virtue

on my father’s face

 

 

family photos

all through the house; feel guilty

none of my father

 

 

“this flight is bad” my

father said from bed; did he

know he was dying?

 

 

old van speeds downhill

“lets jump the bridge!” Daddy yelled

we squealed with delight

 

 

I don’t remember

hugging my father, except

when we moved away

 

 

pit in my stomach

is it because I miss him

or because I don’t?

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Daddy, Daughter, Death, Family, father, Haiku, Incest Recovery, Life, Parent, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #256 of 365 – 6 Haiku brought on by Father’s Day

  1. Starralee says:

    Well done. We’re on the same track–I just wrote a hard one, will be up in a couple days.

Feel free to comment.

