#265 of 365 – “bones and lovers”

“bones and lovers”

 

trees hush ‘round their secrets

and brood into the night

hiding bones and lovers

and old leaves from the light

day is ended, felled

and shredded for fodder

tossed and burned into sleep

like a smoky marauder

I want to sleep and dream

like the soft murmured breeze

that whispers and chants

to the midnight trees

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in dreaming, Dreams, Nature, Night, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #265 of 365 – “bones and lovers”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Uh, Merle…uhh…how do I say this tactfully — Have you been dipping into the cinammon-flavored applesauce again?! I’m gonna have to read this one several times before its goodness seeps into my hard old headbone! 😛

    • Blackbird says:

      Aww, well you know…once you have cinammon-flavored applesauce there’s just no going back! Thanks Ron!

      • pi314chron says:

        It DOES have a dark, eerie, mysterious quality wich you sustain throughout! Now…if I just knew what that “smoky marauder” is all about. I’m afraid I’m just hopeless at some types of poetic expression. Finding the key(s) to unlock an author’s “private language” has never been my strong suit. But what you do in this poem is definitely worth another try to get at the meat. 😛

      • Blackbird says:

        Well, “smoky” cause of the shreds of day being burned into sleep, and “marauder” cause the day can sometimes rampage through the night’s dreams. It’s ok if that doesn’t work for you…I know they all can’t be barn burners…even though I try like hell to burn one down every night! 😉 Always appreciate your comments, Ron.

  2. jcqlndav says:

    Beautiful. This one will rank as one of my favorites–there are so many I like.
    Mummzy

Feel free to comment.

