#303 of 365 – “mortality’s knot”

“mortality’s knot”

 

 

climbing the air

like bricks and stones

 

looking for prayers

to wrap ‘round my bones

 

as threads of time

tangle my thought

 

and twist space

into mortality’s knot

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Faith, Future, God, Grace, Life, Mortality, Poetry, Prayer, Time and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #303 of 365 – “mortality’s knot”

  1. pi314chron says:

    With Google’s help, I found the phrase “mortality’s knot” in “Pilgrim’s Progress,” in a section on Purgatory. Is your poem related to Purgatory in some way? I have no key to unlock this one.

    • Blackbird says:

      Only in the sense that when I let thinking about time tangle me up(time I’ve wasted, time I have left, etc.) and I start thinking about my own mortality and the fear of not accomplishing enough(whatever that is) and being remembered or forgotten…the space I exist in gets all twisted into a big knot(along with my stomach)…and I can’t move. So I get to climbing the walls, climbing the air, trying to pray, trying to be ok. Guess this one was a little out there…

      • pi314chron says:

        I understand but was “mortality’s knot” a phrase you had read and subconsciously remembered, or did you come up with the phrase independently? No biggie, just curious! 🙂

      • Blackbird says:

        Independently…never heard of “Pilgrim’s Progress.” Sorry if I went off into a long unnecessary thesis. 😉

Feel free to comment.

