#312 of 365 – 3 Haiku

3 Haiku

 

so much family

too many plastic cups for

me to feel at home

 

 

sudden tangy burn

I gulp down the smell but it

doesn’t get me drunk

 

 

cups full of my past

everyone at a party

I cannot attend

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Addict Behavior, Addiction, alcoholism, Change, Drunk, Family, Haiku, Poetry, Recovery, Sobriety and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #312 of 365 – 3 Haiku

  1. pi314chron says:

    Very brave to visit the past through haiku. I continue to admire you for your poetry and the progress you have made in a journey more tortured than we will ever know. That said, these three haiku are nicely chiseled monuments to a life in progress. <>

    Ron

    • Blackbird says:

      Thanks Ron…your comments mean so much…and are always appreciated.

    • pi314chron says:

      Again, I failed to understand these three haiku in connection with a “loss in the family” clarified by later posts. Please forgive me. What I said above was true, though. The haiku are crafted with skill and grace.

      • Blackbird says:

        Nothing at all to forgive. That’s the beauty of poetry…we all see/read/feel something different…and none of it is wrong. Thanks for the wonderful compliment. And really, there’s no way to know what I’m talking about here other than some family/people are having something I can’t have.

  2. sassyD says:

    I’m back. Really conveys what it feels like to be in recovery— forever

Feel free to comment.

