#315 of 365 – “mid-step”

“mid-step”

 

death brushed too close to me

ruffled my sleeves

 

bits of my soul

pulled away like dead leaves

 

it swallowed my air

leaving skeleton breaths

 

my sense of belonging

and balance bereft

 

it was as if my feet

could no longer find the floor

 

mid-step between now

and eternity’s door

 

all comfort and measure of time

washed out to shore

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Afterlife, Death, Life, Spirit, Time and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #315 of 365 – “mid-step”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Nice! There are elements of Emily Dickinson’s “Because I Could Not Stop for Death” in this whole poem, especially the first two lines.
    Read it again here to be inspired for a brand new poem:

    http://tinyurl.com/nx6nz7l

    Ron

Feel free to comment.

