#336 of 365 – “conundrum”

“conundrum”

 

I am tossed about

in a conundrum

between my day

and the day’s news

that has poured

over me

like a blindness

heavy and suffused

my equilibrium

is tainted

off-colored

by the times

musty

unusable

and tattered

by crimes

I want to cover up

and run

stick my toes

in the sand

kick my feet

in the waters

and squeeze

the sun in my hand

I want to embrace

the open breezes

curl beneath

a loving sky

where sleep

comes easy

and no needs exist

to ask the heavens why

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Belief, Extremism, Faith, Fear, God, Grace, Hope, Humanity, Poetry, Terrorism, Violence and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #336 of 365 – “conundrum”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Another winner! And one any thinking person can relate to…which leads me to a question: Did you get the info I sent?

  2. Fig Tree Chance says:

    Yes, I understand that. Oh, and I transposed the numbers, thought this was 366 of 365–which started me worrying that you’ll quit at 365….I really should trundle off to bed!

    • Blackbird says:

      Thanks Fig! No, I’m not going to quit at 365…it just may not be every single day anymore. It’s been incredibly hard to do this everyday for a year!…course I’m not quite there yet….don’t wanna count chickens that aren’t here yet. 😉

      • Fig Tree Chance says:

        That’s part of what has blown me away–that every single day you could bring us such stellar work. I post everyday–but I’m well aware that some poems are “just a poem”, nothing to shout about.

      • Blackbird says:

        Oh, my dear friend…thank you for the very high praise! Some of what we all write are “just poems.” But that’s okay…they can’t all be barn-burners! 😉

      • Fig Tree Chance says:

        Good thing-since I don’t have a barn to burn!!

Feel free to comment.

