#341 of 365 – “muddied and drawn”

 “muddied and drawn”

 

I feel angry today

and by my own bitterness, defamed

buried in envy

beneath the rotten sod of shame

I don’t like me like this

a sunless twist of grays

my neglected prayers hiding

in alleys like strays

I don’t call for them

sulk like I don’t know they’re gone

don’t pull my face up

from being muddied and drawn

but it’s late now

and I need this spiritual tantrum to end

think I’ll go look for my prayers now

and bring them back again

then I’ll hit my knees and reopen

my closed doors to God. Amen.

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Addict Behavior, Anxiety, Depression, disappointment, Envy, Faith, God, Lessons, Life, Poetry, Prayer, Praying, Regret, Self-Worth, Shame, Sins, Sobriety, Spirituality, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #341 of 365 – “muddied and drawn”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Things may not be going the best right now, but you have friends here who think you are a wonderful person and exceptional poet. I am one of those! ❤

  2. Fig Tree Chance says:

    Oh I know those days, dear heart–but the poem ends so positively: you recognize what you need to do, and move forward. Faith is definitely an action word. And I don’t know if you know this, but “Amen” essentially says, “Lord, I choose to Believe, and Receive what You have for me”. It’s very simple–and He hears it. You can take my word for it–a Fig can’t fib!

Feel free to comment.

