#342 of 365 – “unbroken”

“unbroken”

 

still in a struggle

I squeezed through the day

trying to mold it around me

like a lump of my clay

the cloud cover

broke up my sky into pieces

rainfall folded

my hopes in its creases

but a slow burning sunset

undid blinds that don’t open

and crippled prayers

rose from their sickbeds unbroken

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Belief, Depression, Doubt, Faith, Healing, Hope, Insight, Lessons, Life, Nature, Perseverance, Poetry, Prayer, Praying, Rain, Recovery, Regret, Spirituality, Sunsets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to #342 of 365 – “unbroken”

  1. Fig Tree Chance says:

    Oh WOW, Merle–this is my new FAVE. Gosh, I love it–it speaks to me, such a tribute to faith and hope.

    • Fig Tree Chance says:

      Would it be okay for me to print a copy for my keepsakes box? I wouldn’t publish it anywhere (though I’m thinking I may do a “reblog day”–as there are several poets I’d like to feature.

    • Blackbird says:

      Thanks Fig…sometimes the hope at the end is just that…hope. Unfortunately I don’t always feel that hope…but I’m trying.

      • Blackbird says:

        Sure Figgy…you can print, reblog or publish anything of mine anytime…as long as my name is on there – which I know would be…you don’t even have to ask.

      • Fig Tree Chance says:

        We don’t have to feel it 24/7, dear heart–but every time we do, we can celebrate!

  2. Pingback: Today is Re-Blog Day! | ECHOING ENIGMA

  3. Fig Tree Chance says:

    Reblogged this on ECHOING ENIGMA and commented:
    Merle is one of my new fave poets–every single post she writes cuts right to the heart’s marrow. Fabulous.

  4. jcqlndav says:

    Your imagery is stunning”— squeezed through the day–” speaks to those difficult days when moving forward takes everything I have to give. Somehow it the words remind me of those times when I grieve and dread the dawn of another day when someone special is missing for good.
    Mummzy

Feel free to comment.

