#365 of 365 – ’round the bend

‘round the bend

 

change is coming

‘round the bend

up the hill

down toward the end

 

change for the girl

deep down inside

too frightened to live

too angry to hide

 

the winds have picked up

God’s ether is warm

and I have new boots

to dance in, come the storm

 

the past is a friend

with silver to share

to weave into clouds

of the darkness I wear

 

roads I have travelled

sometimes steep and alone

often like Sisyphus

pushing his stone

 

have led me to thickets

with treasures beneath

wide open daytimes

and soft velvet sleeps

 

change is coming

‘round the bend

up the hill

down toward the end

 

change is making

its way to me

gonna leave my bags

and fly away free

 

gonna leave my bags

and fly away free

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Beginning, Belief, Change, Changes, Faith, God, Growth, Healing, Inner Child, Insight, Lessons, Life, Past, Perseverance, Poetry, Recovery, Self-Forgiveness, Time and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #365 of 365 – ’round the bend

  1. T. D. Davis says:

    Amen! I’m choked up….

  2. pi314chron says:

    Now, this is the poet you were meant to be! Spread your wings, hon, and FLY! You’re free!
    (A wonderful poem — I am sooo impressed! Do it again!)

    Hugs,

    Ron

    • Blackbird says:

      Aww…thanks Ron! Means so much to call you my friend! I took a couple days off, but will be posting tonight(changed the tag line on my blog now that I’ve done 365 in 365 days…yay!). Anyway, I’m afraid tonight’s posting is a eensy-weensy-bit angry…been a rough couple of days. Oops!

  3. jcqlndav says:

    What a way to end your year of poetry–optimistic and free. You know, this one sounds like song. All it needs is the music. Love this one!
    Mummzy

Feel free to comment.

