#374 – “rebel against the roses”

“rebel against the roses”

 

I tumble down the morning

with no footing for the day

lose the words I’d gathered up

for the prayers I’d planned to pray

my thoughts rebel against the roses

run to pick the thorns instead

hold tight in scratchy bunkers

built up strong inside my head

but leafy air floats down around me

like velvet breath from the skies

and teary light slips through the cracks

to wash the darkness from my eyes

and for a moment, in the sifting sands

like dreams inside my sleep

I see a purpose I can touch and hold

but never seem to keep

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Belief, Depression, Faith, God, Hope, Life, Poetry, Prayer, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment.

