#375 – 5 Haiku

5 Haiku 

 

she strikes her match, sets

the trees on fire; she can’t

help herself; Autumn

 

 

body cooling down

anger heating up; massage

clients that don’t show

 

 

two cowboys taken

somewhere they can’t escape from

secretly in love

 

 

I am frightened by

the vagueness that has me lost

in my denial

 

 

my stomach caves; heart

drags through bitter distress when

I hurt her feelings

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Addict Behavior, Addiction, Compulsive Spending, Denial, Gay, Growth, Guilt, Haiku, Homosexuality, Life, Marriage, Nature, Poetry, Recovery, Seasons, Self-Employed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #375 – 5 Haiku

  1. pi314chron says:

    The beauty of number 1 sets my soul on fire…to borrow part of your metaphor. Very imagistic.
    I relate to number 2 with a holy hatred when ANYONE doesn’t tell me they’re not going to make an appt. or be where they are supposed to be at a certain time. Grrrr!
    Number 3 is difficult for me to relate to personally but there is a sadness there that perhaps society can ameliorate in time…but I’m not hopeful.
    Number 4 — your fear and denial are palpable but the details are lost to me and perhaps should be. The open-endedness is a strength of haiku, leaving the reader something to think about or to contribute to the poem rather than the haiku writer telling the whole enchilada.
    Number 5 is strong but transposed words or a missing word in line three makes an enigma out of what could otherwise engender powerful feelings.

    It’s all good! And will keep getting better!

    Ron

    • Blackbird says:

      Oh…for cryin’ out loud! You know I had to re-read that thing five times, as well as your comments before I saw it…oy! Thanks Ron…for the correction and the compliments…always appreciated. The cowboy haiku is about “Brokeback Mountain” an exceptionally well acted movie I happened upon again…seen it several times – one of my faves.

Feel free to comment.

