#384 – “doors left ajar”

“doors left ajar”

 

I’ve grown

tired of watching

my dreams

from afar

of passing

the doorways

with doors

left ajar

so long

is the tedium

that squashes

the light

that raises

the shadows

and fattens

the night

and pushes

the angels

just left

of my sight

still, I inch

from the darkness

and pray

for my sins

that the angels

return

where tomorrow

begins

 

 

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Angels, Belief, Change, Dreams, Faith, Fortitude, Growth, Healing, Hope, Life, Poetry, Prayer, Recovery, Sins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #384 – “doors left ajar”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Just totally excellent, Merle! What a way to start the New Year — a poem that anyone would be proud to claim as their own. Uhhh…may I have it?! *g*

    • Blackbird says:

      Oh, thank you so much, Ron! So sorry for my slug-slow response…you may have whatever you want!…(within reason) 😉 Of course one man’s reason is another man’s are you out of your freakin mind?! Hugggzzzz!

      • pi314chron says:

        You are TOO gracious, but I really must decline your offer and continue writing my own schtick instead of by glorified panhandling! Maybe when my “haiku well” goes dry. 🙂

        Ron

  2. jcqlndav says:

    Merle, I clicked on “like”. What happens on your end? Did you get that of not. I can’t tell. You kknow I am not savvy about these things.

    Mummzy

    Jackie Davison jcqlndav@aol.com

    • Blackbird says:

      Don’t think it registered…you’d see your icon where the other “likes” are. Maybe you weren’t logged in at the time or something…try it again, but just knowing you liked it enough to try is all I need…thanks Mummzy!

Feel free to comment.

