#419 – “but for the Grace”

“but for the Grace”

 

they annoy me

the poor

with their homeless

street-sleeping

their wide

open fingers

and dirty teeth

speaking

asking

for money

with their cardboard

signs

waiting

for food

in their long

desperate lines

I prefer

not to see them

or be bothered

to care

too busy

I am

to even offer

a prayer

or to remember

that but 

for the Grace

I’d be there

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Grace, Gratitude, Homelessness, People, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #419 – “but for the Grace”

  1. Jackie Davison says:

    This poem speaks to me in a way I would rather not confront. What do I do when I see the homeless? I give a dollar or two out of guilt to avoid my real feelings .

    . Not that I really needed to have this realization at this time–but that’s what good poetry does. Thanks Baby

    Mummzy

    • Blackbird says:

      I think guilt is underrated. I certainly have it – but it’s not always a bad thing. It’s true that sometimes the guilt is that I have money I don’t want to give away, sometimes I really don’t have any to give – and I think that particular moment of guilt comes out of a sense of responsibility for my fellow-man – as opposed to feeling like I’ve done something wrong. Either way though, it’s uncomfortable.

      Thanks for your comment!

Feel free to comment.

